Ars Reginae

Reginele-Scriitoare ale României. Romania's Writer-Queens. Rumäniens Schriftsteller-Königinnen

  • wordpress analytics

Regina Maria: A Country I Love – O ţară care mi-e dragă

Posted by arsreginae pe 03/14/2010

Regina Maria: “My Country”

“This is a small country, a new country, but it is a country I love. I want others to love it also; therefore listen to a few words about it. Let me paint a few pictures, draw a few sketches as I have seen them, first with my eyes, then with my heart.

(…)

Once I was a stranger to this people; now I am one of them, and, because I came from so far, better was I able to see them with their good qualities and with their defects.

(…)

At first it was an alien country, its roads too dusty, too endless its plains. I had to learn to see its beauties – to feel its needs with my heart. Little by little the stranger became one of them, and now she would like the country of her birth to see this other country through the eyes of its Queen. Yes, little by little I learnt to understand this people, and little by little it learned to understand me. Now we trust each other, and so, if God wills, together we shall go towards a greater future!”

Queen Marie of Romania: My Country, London, New York, Toronto: Hodder and Stoughton, 1916.

village2

Regina Maria: „Ţara mea”

„Ţara aceasta e mică, e nouă, dar e o ţară care mi-e dragă. Îmi trebuie ca şi altora să le fie dragă; de aceea ascultaţi câteva cuvinte despre dânsa. Ingăduiţi-mi să zugrăvesc câteva icoane, să fac câteva schiţe aşa cum le-am văzut cu ochii întâi, apoi cu inima.

Odată eram pentru acest popor o străină; acuma sunt una dintre ei, şi, pentru că vin de atât de departe, am fost mai mult în stare să-i văd cu însuşirile lor bune şi cu neajunsurile lor.

(…)

La început era o ţară străină. Drumurile ei prea prăfoase, prea fără de capăt şesurile ei. A trebuit să mă învăţ a-i vedea frumuseţile şi a-i simţi nevoile cu inima mea.

Puţin câte puţin străina a ajuns a fi una din ei, şi acuma i-ar plăcea ca pământul naşterii sale să vadă acestălalt pământ cu ochii Reginei lui.

Da, puţin câte puţin am învăţat să înţeleg acest popor şi încetul pe încetul, el a învăţat să mă înţeleagă pe mine. Acum ne încredem între noi, şi astfel, cu ajutorul lui Dumnezeu, împreună vom merge spre un mai mare viitor.“

Maria Regina României, traducere din englezeşte de Nicolae Iorga, Bucureşti, Sibiu: Pavel Suru, 1919 (ediţia a treia).

Lasă un răspuns

 
