Ars Reginae

Reginele-Scriitoare ale României. Romania's Writer-Queens. Rumäniens Schriftsteller-Königinnen

  • wordpress analytics

Queen Marie: “I have taken again to wearing Roumanian dress”

Posted by arsreginae pe 12/21/2013

marie-bicaz1918“Bicaz, July 19th/ August 1st, 1918.

A lovely day… I have taken again to wearing Roumanian dress and visit the peasants in their cottages and hold converse with them. They are delighted when I come to their homes and follow me about everywhere. They have such a charming and even poetical way of expressing themselves, and know how to show their loyalty. They are unspoiled, unsophisticated, but are always full of many needs. They have a children-like confidence in my power to help. I never go anywhere with empty hands.”

From “The Story of My Life” by Marie Queen of Roumania, vol. III, London, 1935.

Lasă un răspuns

 
